EU & India Collaborative project

Welcome statement

The overall aim of the ATHENA (Advanced Theories for functional oxides: new routes to handle the devices of the future) project is the investigation, through a synergy of advanced First-Principles, density-functional based methods, and Model Hamiltonian calculations suited for strong-correlated systems, of the properties and functionalities of transition metal oxides that may be viable candidates as building blocks of future micro- and nanoelectronic devices with enhanced capabilities. Despite the huge amount of work already accomplished in the field, a deep and complete understanding of these systems is still lacking. This is due on the one hand to the complexity inherent to the physics of strong-correlated electrons, which includes a plethora of fascinating but overtly complex phenomena (e.g. charge and orbital ordering, polaronic formation, spin-charge separation, non-Fermi liquid behaviour, to name just few). The project is a collaboration between 6 University partners forming two consortia one based in Europe and the other in India.


Third EU-Indian Joint Meeting: Bangalore February 2011

Second EU-Indian Joint Meeting: Brussels January 2011

First EU-Indian Joint Meeting: Allahabad January 2010

Kick off meeting Indian Consortium (1 August 2009)

Kick off meeting European Consortium (22 June 2009)

The kickoff meeting of the EU side of the ATHENA consortium took place in Dublin on June the 22nd. The Indian partners took part in telephone-conference. The presentations of the various groups are available in the private area of the web-site or upon request.

Start of the ATHENA project (28 May 2009)

On May 28th the ATHEMA project has officially begin.

The ATHENA partners

Trinity College Dublin, Ireland Prof. Stefano Sanvito (European Coordinator) University of Cagliari, Italy Prof. Alessio Filippetti University of Vienna, Austria Prof. Cesare Franchini S. N. Bose national Center for Basic Sciences, Kolkata Prof. Priya Mahadevan (Indian Coordinator) Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad Prof. Pinaki Majumdar Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore Prof. Umesh Waghmare